

# Minutes of the meeting of Parishioners to elect Church Wardens held on Sunday 14th May 2023

#### Chair Revd Andrew Dand

Apologies for absence

Mark Cosstick, Susan Powrie, John Hennessey, Tim Jenkins, Christiane Jenkins, Gilly Clarke, Mildred Mansfield, Lilian Hunt

- Minutes of the meeting of Parishioners held on Sunday 22nd May 2022
   These were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting. Proposed Beryl Bevan seconded Helen White
- Matters arising if any
   There were no matters arising
- Election of Church Wardens

There were 2 nominations – Tim Barnes and Gareth Bevan. Both duly were elected.

# Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) held on Sunday 14th May 2023

Chair: Revd Andrew Dand

- Apologies for absence as above
- Minutes of the APCM held on 22nd May 2022

These were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting. Proposed Beryl Bevan seconded Maria Barnes

Matters arising

There were no matters arising

- Presentation of the Annual report
  - Growth-Sunday grew 19% across 2022 (14% higher than 2019)
  - Focus on vision to make disciples. Summer survey and new resources/groups offered
  - Continued re-building including creche restarting
  - Celebrated 100<sup>th</sup> online service
  - New mission partners 'The Grove'
  - Warm space at the hall

#### Presentation of Electoral Roll – 137

Four more than last year – with some people joining us and some leaving.

#### Treasurer's report for the year ending 31 December 2022

- Our income of £152k was £2k down on 2021. We received 2 legacies in 2021.
- Thanks were expressed to all who remain faithful in their giving to the church.
- We received 2 grants in 2022 an energy grant from the Diocese and warm spaces from London Borough of Ealing. These amount to nearly £8k.
- The hall income is down as there was no vaccine centre income in 2022 and it has taken time for the hall bookings to recover post covid.
- Expenditure of £142k is slightly up on 2021.
- There were urgent repairs to the hall windows and problem greenery was removed. Church repairs however were lower.
- Our surplus for 2022 at £10k is down slightly.
- Our Common Fund payment to the Diocese was unchanged in 2022. This is running at 80% of
  expected and over the next few years the Diocese will be looking to bring payments back up to pre
  covid levels.
- We have £84k in the bank. We are holding £27k in the fabric fund account from the Hobbayne charity. However stone work amounting to £23k is due soon.
- We hold reserves of £27k.
- There is £1,749 in the recovery fund. This is needed to update technology in the church and the rectory.
- There is £16k in the hall fund. The hall is an important resource for us and the community and needs to be in good order.
- The energy fund of £3,327 will be set against energy costs this year.
- Our energy costs for 2022 were £10k. We are assuming 2023 will probably be double that amount.
   We are anticipating this will be covered by increased giving, the income from the hall recovering to pre covid levels and a Diocesan grant.
- Thanks were expressed to Yvonne Johnson, Mervat Hepper and Helen White for their input.

#### Appointment of Independent Examiner (auditor)

We appointed Kevin Ogilvie of Charity Bookkeeping and Examination Services 3 years ago and he is willing to carry on. Proposed by Beryl Bevan and seconded by Yvonne Johnson. All in agreement.

#### Election of PCC members and Deanery Synod rep

Edsel Jodhan was nominated as our Diocesan Synod representative. He was duly elected.

There were 4 vacancies on the PCC. The 4 nominees were Neil Davies (re standing for second 3 year term), Lydia Martin, Anna Fernandez and Kate Bush. No election was necessary and all 4 were elected.

#### Noting of sides-persons

### **Sides-persons**

10.30am service

Carol Collison; Mark Cosstick; Sally Jackson; Edsel Jodhan; Phil Phelan; David Simmons; David Whitestone

## PCC members during 2022/23

Andrew Dand (chair) Camille Adams, Tim Barnes, Beryl Bevan, Helen Cosstick, Chris Cosstick, Simon Croyden (resigned 8<sup>th</sup> August 2022), Susy Dand, Neil Davies, Hannah Foxcroft, John Hennessy, Edsel Jodhan, Phil Phelan, Frances Scott, Dave Sebuyira, Helen White

Ex officio: Andrew Dand; Tim Barnes; Gareth Bevan; Susy Dand

Co-opted: Helen Cosstick

### **Standing Committee during 2022/23**

Camille Adams, Andrew Dand, Tim Barnes, Beryl Bevan, Gareth Bevan, Chris Cosstick